Governmental Structure

Maryland is governed by three branches of government. The executive branch, including the governor; the legislative branch, or General Assembly; and the judicial branch.

The governor and members of the General Assembly are elected to four-year terms.

Larry Hogan was elected as Maryland's 62nd Governor in 2014. He served as Secretary of Appointments in the Bob Ehrlich administration.

The General Assembly, or state legislature, has 188 members - 47 in the Senate and 141 in the House of Delegates. The Senate President for the 2016 legislative session is Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. and the House Speaker is Michael Busch.

The General Assembly convenes for a 90-day session each year. This year, the General Assembly convened on January 13 and ends April 11. The state's fiscal year runs July 1-June 30.

Legislative Overview

A booklet describing Maryland Catholic Conference's public policy advocacy and its 2016 legislative agenda.

Maryland Catholic Conference Legislative Overview 2016

Legislative Handbook

A handbook providing contact information for Maryland's lawmakers and their committee assignments and identifying different ways to make your voices heard in the public square.

Maryland Catholic Conference 2016 Legislative Handbook (coming soon)

Join the Catholic Advocacy Network

Make your voice heard

Make your voice heard and keep our place in the public square by joining our Catholic Advocacy Network.